DOMS

Doms

Thursday 15th August, 2013 (Day 4)

DOMS or Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness is certainly taking it’s toll in this first week of really pushing myself. Everything hurts… AND I still have 3 days of training to get through !! AND today I have more squats…. far out…. if you see a poor girl crying in the corner, cradling her body… it’s just me 🙂

So I thought I’d share my thoughts on treatments that I have tried over the years.

a) Hot bath with Epsom Salts – Good, relaxing, soothed muscles, didn’t last forever.

b) Alternating 1 min screaming hot and 1 min freezing cold in the shower – did nothing.

c) Massage – A+

d) Stretching – A+, but have to keep on doing it at regular intervals. Stretching after training will help prevent the onset of DOMS or the severity.

e) Topical creams such as Deep Heat – utter crap, they heat the skin, not the muscle, you’re probably getting more benefit from massaging it in that the cream itself.

d) Drugs – an anti-inflammatory like Nurofen does help…. temporarily.

e) Repeat – light training and moving will help release the muscle again, this is what I recommend often and do myself, along with a really good stretch session and a massage.

f) Supplements – I was quite sceptical about this until recently. Over the course of my pre-comp training I found that a good quality protein, some Bioflex Recovery EAA’s (Essential Amino Acids) and Bioflex BCAA’s (Branch Chain Amino Acids) did help me a hell of a lot when I was seriously hurting with the DOMS. A hell of a lot. To be honest I started taking it again yesterday and my DOMS do feel better today. I also assume there are other brands of this. I tend to simply stick with what works.

g) Ice bath – have not tried…… logic says it would work as it would reduce swelling….

h) Magnesium – Works only a little for me. Not really high on my DOMS treatment list, but I do sleep better taking it.

Well they’re my opinions, feel free to try any !!! I’m also reminding myself that it does get easier, the soreness becomes harder to get and once I start training for a lengthy period of time I’ll probably start missing getting sore. Not today though.

Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

